Aligarh Muslim University

Home > Aligarh Muslim University

The MAO colleges initially was under the affiliation of University of Calcutta, but was later brought under University of Allahabad in the year 1885. Aligarh Muslim University has an important position in the Indian education scenario and the manner in which the education system of AMU has contributed has been among the best in the country. The university has the credit of being the only one, where schools are located inside the campus.

There are 5 high schools each for visually handicapped students, two for girls and 2 for boys at the senior secondary level. There are in total about 30000 students, 6000 non teaching staff and more than 1400 teachers in a total of 12 faculties with a variety of disciplines numbering 95 departments, 13 centres and 5 institutions. There are 73 hostels with halls of residences numbering 18 and the total number of courses is 325.

Various institutions in the college are ZH college of engineering and technology, Dr Ziauddin Dental collge, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Institute of Opthalmology, Interdisciplinary Biotechnology Unit, Food Craft Institute, Centre for West Asian Studies, Centre of Advance Study in History, Centre of Wildlife, Women’s college, Academic Staff College, Ajmal Khan Tibbiya College, computer centre and University Polytechnique for Girls and boys. The campus area of the university has a spread of 467.6 hectares.

Students from various parts of the world such as West Asia, Africa, South East Asia, etc are seen to be coming to AMU. A variety of languages are being taught here such as Hindi, Urdu, English, Persian, Arabic, Telugu, Sanskrit, Bengali, Tamil, Marathi, Malayalam, Kashmiri, Punjabi, Turkish, French, German, Russian, etc. The main language of instruction is usually English.

Colleges under Aligarh Muslim University are:

  • Ajmal Khan Tibbiya College
  • Ajmal Khan Tibbiya College, Aligarh (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College
  • Sir Ziauddin Dental College, (Uttar Pradesh)
  • UGC Academic Staff College, (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Womens College, (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Zakir Husain College of Engineering and Technology, Aligarh (Uttar Pradesh)

Courses Offered By AMU

  • Bachelor's Degree Courses
  • Master's Degree Courses
  • Post M. A./M. Sc. Diploma Courses
  • M. Phil./Ph. D.
  • Certificate Courses
  • Senior Secondary School Certificate
  • Diploma/Advance Diploma Courses
  • P. G. Diploma Courses

Contact Details:

Administrative Block,
Aligarh Muslim University,
Aligarh-202002 (UP) India
Phone (Office): +91-571-2701807
Email: controller.amu@amu.ac.in
Fax: +91-571-2702331
Website: http://www.amu.ac.in